Posted on

Records for Ranji Trophy

India’s premier first-class tournament, theRanji Trophy is well known for some brilliant batting performers as the tournament has a rich history of witnessing some of the hefty scores and exceptional individual performances as well. It is an example of why India has produced numerous batsmen at the International level who set the record books on fire.

In the 83 seasons of the tournament played so far, Wasim Jaffer is the only player to have breached the 10,000 runs barrier. The former India opener featured for the Mumbai team for nearly 19 seasons from his debut before moving to Vidarbha from 2015/16 season where he completed the 10,000-run milestone. After missing out the previous season due to an injury, the 39-year-old will be featuring for his new team Vidarbha this time as well. Among the active players, Madhya Pradesh’s Devendra Bundela comes next to Jaffer with 8851 runs. If Bundela scores 352 runs more runs, he will be moving to the 2nd spot in the leading run-getter’s list by surpassing Amol Mazumdar.

Highest run-getters in Ranji Trophy history: (Players with 8000+ runs)

Delhi’s Ajay Sharma amassed 7438 runs at an astonishing average of 78.29 which is the best in the history of the tournament among the players who have aggregated a minimum of 6000 runs. Only four other players have scored 6000+ runs at an average over 60. Jaffer’s average of 56.98 is the highest among the active players.

Highest batting average in Ranji Trophy history: (Min: 6000 runs)

Wasim Jaffer leads the list of most centuries in Ranji Trophy a record total of 35 hundreds. Ajay Sharma is the only other player with 30+ Ranji centuries as the Delhi batsman has struck 31 hundreds in his career. Among the players who will be featuring the coming 2017/18 Ranji season, Bundela has the most centuries (24) after Jaffer. Mithun Manhas has scored 25 hundreds in his career but his participation in the coming season is unsure.

Most centuries by a player in Ranji Trophy history:

Leave a Reply